A Yorkshire Thanksgiving

I lived in the US and Canada for 22 years, and never had a proper Thanksgiving – one where I cooked all day and had to get bedrooms ready for guests.

We didn’t have any family there, and the few friends we had were busy with their own parties (oh sure, someone would always ask if we wanted to come to their Thanksgiving dinner, but it’s a bit awkward to go to a celebration with other peoples’ family and friends, so – after the first year – we always said no, and anyway, that’s not the same as hosting your own meal).

So, fast-forward to the present day, here in the wilds of the Yorkshire hills (and it IS wild at the moment), and I finally hosted a Thanksgiving bash – albeit with a British twist.

Some of our oldest friends came to join us – sadly we didn’t have room for everyone – and I spent two days getting ready. I loved every minute.

After soliciting recipes from my American friends, I decided I just like British roast meals better than American ones. I can’t imagine having Mac n’ Cheese with a roast turkey, or adding sugar and marshmallows to sweet potatoes and then actually eating the result!! So I decided to make a traditional British roast dinner – crispy roast potatoes, Yorkshire puddings, mashed parsnips, roasted sprouts, peas, gravy, homemade sage and onion stuffing, and I replaced the turkey with my nut roast in puff pastry. It was all delicious even though I do say so myself.

Then we went American for desserts – and had a trio of them! Pumpkin pie with whipped cream, cheesecake, and brownie with ice cream. My friend Mark made the pumpkin pie and the cheesecake, and apparently was up until midnight the night before so he could finish them, which was super kind.

Lots of alcohol was consumed, lots of food was eaten, and lots of laughs were had. Here’s me and my old friend Ruth (she’s the one in the hat and scarf).

12278828_10204876074493660_1889228694311449031_n

And here’s the beautiful table that my best friend Jon decorated.

12313535_10204876073453634_8093720524811077624_n

I only wish we had the space to invite more people because we had such a wonderful time.

I have a feeling Yorkshire Thanksgiving might become a regular occasion!

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Yorkshire Thanksgiving

  1. Your Yorkshire Thanksgiving sounds splendid Louise. We had a Cornish Thanksgiving and it was wonderful. (Pumpkin pie is extra delicious with finest Cornish clotted cream). I never thought I’d see the day when I would be buying Libby’s pumpkin again, thank goodness for Amazon! I’m with you on the sweet potato and marshmallows though. Ugh!

    I never did much enjoy the day back in the States but now we’re home I really appreciate what a warm, generous holiday it is 🙂

    Maggi (back home for 3 1/2 years now).

  2. Next time get a Folding B.B.Q table there are 5ft from Lakeland or BQ Louise, i got one from Lakeland Windermere Ltd, i use it now from my computers etc. i have made years ago sweet potato pie and other American cookery when the my family use to come up when the grandchildren were youngsters.

  3. Sounded as if you all had a lovely time… I was telling my daughter about thanksgiving in Wales when I was a child..the chapel would be full of things we had brought there fruit, veg,loafs of bread…after the service of thanksgiving it was off home to a roast dinner..if I remember rightly it happened at the end of October..and all the bread, fruit ect would be shared between the elderly off the village..

Leave a Reply

