The Reason We Came Home

I’m sorry I haven’t posted for a few days. Last week we had the funeral and it upended things a little bit (as it should). But a few lovely things happened last week that I wanted to share with you – especially those of you thinking of moving home.

The first was that Phil and I got to go out for a walk in the fields and hills around our new home (moving day is this week!) We had been very stressed during the previous week and had been working extra hard in order to free up a few days for the viewing and funeral. So Phil suggested that we go over to the new house and go for a walk – treat it as a mini vacation. And you know what – that’s exactly what it was. We only walked about 3 miles (and we stopped halfway round for lunch in the pub!) but it was such an wonderful and restorative experience. Both of us knew the area was lovely, but neither of us realized just how beautiful it really is until we got out into the fields.

Here are a few of the things we saw

IMG_3804

IMG_3188

IMG_3215

IMG_3866

IMG_3850

IMG_3828

IMG_3814

And here’s a video I took from the Pennine Way looking down on our village

The second lovely thing that happened was that two of my dad’s sisters and his brother-in-law came to my nan’s funeral. These are people I haven’t seen since my dad’s funeral in 1994 and who I honestly thought I might never see again. I had no idea they were coming (my nan was my mum’s mother, not my dad’s) so it was a lovely surprise to see them as we walked into the crematorium. We hugged and chatted and laughed and it was a bittersweet moment for me – both a reminder of what I gained by coming back and of what I lost by leaving in the first place.

Here are my lovely aunties

IMG_3876

The funeral went as well as these things ever can. My mum did brilliantly considering what a hard day it was for her. She and her mum were as close as any mother and daughter can be, and for the last 10 years, she’s been taking care of nan as her memory failed and eventually as she had to go into care for her own safety. Mum’s life for the last 10 years has been about caring for someone else, worrying about someone else, putting someone else’s needs above her own. I hope now she’ll put herself first (are you reading this mum?!)

As my husband said after our guests had gone home and things went back to normal, this week is exactly the reason we came home: to be here for our families. You don’t realize how important that is when you’re younger (or I didn’t) or how much you’ll treasure it once you get to be our age.

6 thoughts on “The Reason We Came Home

  1. Lovely as usual, both your pictures and your words. Surprised to see no snow on the ground? My friend from Barnsley has posted pics of an insane amount of snow today.

  2. What a lovely village you are moving to. Can so relate to your thoughts about moving back to be with family and friends as you get older! Any where near the village of Kirby Malzeard? I use to work there! Cheers Gail (Feelbritish)

  3. Louise, to your comment, “As my husband said after our guests had gone home and things went back to normal, this week is exactly the reason we came home: to be here for our families. You don’t realize how important that is when you’re younger (or I didn’t) or how much you’ll treasure it once you get to be our age” all I can say is a big Amen!

  4. Thank you as always for lovely pictures and for sharing. You certainly seemed to have found a corner of Gods country. Lovely looking area. Peter

Leave a Reply

