You Can Hear the Snow

Today we had to go choose carpets for the new house and it mean driving within a few miles, so we took a detour to have a look. In less than a week it will actually be ours and we’re both very excited about it.

When you get near the house, what always strikes you is the silence.

The village is just a few miles from several busy towns and yet it’s as though none of that exists when you’re up there. As we arrived, it was just starting to snow, and we realized it was so quiet that we could actually hear the snow falling on our clothes. I don’t think I’ve ever heard snow before. In the distance, a cow was mooing and somewhere far behind us, we could hear one small bird tweeting, the sound carrying across the valley.

For me it’s a magical place.

My photos didn’t really turn out very well, but Phil took this video.

It’s hard for me to believe that this will be our home. I’ve traveled to, and lived in, some wonderful places, but I think each of us has that special place, that place where we feel most connected, where our soul seems to settle into itself. For me that’s the Yorkshire Dales and I feel incredibly privileged to have the opportunity to spend every day there.

What about you? Do you have a place like that? I’d love to hear about it if you do.

7 thoughts on “You Can Hear the Snow

  1. Wow, I envy you .. it’s beautiful and you have found a “magical place”. I’ve lived in the same town all my life, which has it’s good points .. but I’m not sure it’s “magical”. πŸ˜‰

  2. My place is the Derbyshire Peak District, especially the Crich area, where my parents are from. It’s the subject of my blog, theyearoflivingenglishly.wordpress.com. (I hope you don’t mind me shamelessly mentioning it here!) But it’s true, it’s the place in the world where I feel most at home and where I long to be when I’m not there. I guess you and I just love our Dales!

  3. Beautiful post as always, thank you. I am now looking for my own special place in an area of the country I have never lived before but which I think does have some beautiful country – Bath, Bristol area.

    • I’ve only been there once Peter. I recall clambering up Salisbury Hill on a wet day because my friend was a big Peter Gabriel fan. But even in the rain I remember it was beautiful and I’d love to see Bath again. Good luck with the house hunt!

      • Yes I have to say your area of the country is outstanding but needs must where the jobs are as they say πŸ™‚

  4. I have lived in the US for over thirty years now but my heart has always been in the uk
    My niece is asking me to move back and after reading your blog I believe I’m ready, cheers!

Leave a Reply

