The Most Peaceful Place I Know

If I believed in God, I would say he’s in this place.

IMG_3438

Jervaulx Abbey is a ruined 12th century monastery and its claim to fame is that it was the place where Wensleydale cheese was first made. We’ve been before and loved it, and today was such a beautiful early Spring day that we decided to drive up there again. Unfortunately I can’t fully capture the tranquil, beautiful atmosphere of this place in photos, but maybe I can give a taste.

IMG_3418

IMG_3421

IMG_3427

IMG_3440

IMG_3422

IMG_3442

IMG_3446

IMG_3447

IMG_3448

I think it’s one of my very favorite of all the places I’ve visited in my life.

Afterwards, we headed for the beautiful small market town of Masham where a delicious roast dinner awaited us in the King’s Head.

IMG_3471

IMG_3458

IMG_3461

IMG_3468

IMG_3469

All in all, a lovely end to a quite difficult week.

3 thoughts on “The Most Peaceful Place I Know

  1. Wow, what a beautiful place! My favorite is the one just above the graves looking through the archway door with windows above out onto the stone fence and field. That would be a good drawing for you!

Leave a Reply

