Our Nearest World Heritage Site

Today’s pictures come courtesy of our lovely friends Ruth and Mark who live in one of England’s original model villages, now designated as a World Heritage Site – Saltaire near Bradford.

It’s a fascinating village, created entirely by Titus Salt, a Victorian mill owner. He wanted his workers to live happy and wholesome lives, so he built them houses, a community centre, a church, a school, a hospital … everything you could need for daily life. Well, everything except a pub because old Titus didn’t allow drinking. (Now Saltaire has several pubs and bars including one names ‘Don’t Tell Titus”).

It’s a lovely place. We visited in early Autumn and Ruth and Mark gave us a tour of the village and the old mill, which has now been turned into a spectacular arts gallery and shopping centre. Here are some of my pictures from that visit.

IMG_2278

IMG_2280

IMG_2301

This one was taken inside the converted mill, which is really worth a visit if you’re ever in the area.

IMG_1986

But of course it’s not sunny or warm now, and Ruth was kind enough to send over a few photos of Saltaire over the last few days.

DSC02936

DSC02939

DSC02920

DSC02916

DSC02921

It’s such an evocative place. Can’t you just imagine the workers, all heading to the mill on a cold winter’s day?

Thanks for sharing, Ruth and Mark!

3 thoughts on “Our Nearest World Heritage Site

  1. I never know whether to think these Victorian benefactors were great and noble men, or somewhat patronising. I suppose the former. They were of their time, and philanthropy, like everything, is culturally very conditioned. But I can’t help preferring living in an era where people have employee rights, and a minimum wage. Even though the end result might not necessarily be a happier community.

    Wow, what a cynical attitude. I didn’t know I thought that, until I wrote it! Perhaps I’ve lived in America for too long.

    • I know what you mean Iota. I’d much rather be living now …. but if I was alive then, I suppose I’d rather have worked for Titus than most of the other mill owners. Even if it did mean I had to sneak my alcohol in through the backdoor!

Leave a Reply

