2012 – The Best of Times

What a year! Phil and I were talking last night and we both agree that 2012 has to be the best year we’ve ever had.

When you decide to make a move as big as the one we’ve just made, you really have no idea how it will turn out. You plan and imagine and hope, but in the end, it’s a leap into the dark. We’ve done it 3 times now – first when we moved to Canada, second when we moved to the US, and now this year when we came home. By far this last one has been the best – at least from my perspective. It’s been the easiest in terms of fitting in and the most fun in terms of the experience.

If you’ve spent any time in England, you’ll know that the thing Brits do best is complain (there’s a reason the Australians call us “whinging Poms”). Not for us the overt daily patriotism of the Americans, or the quiet pride of the Canadians. No, according to us, everything is crap and the country is going to the dogs. It’s not and it isn’t, but without those beliefs I honestly think conversation in Britain would dry up completely.

If I had limitless wealth, I would send every British person abroad for a few years and let them experience life elsewhere. Then I’d bring them home, so they can see the country with new eyes and truly appreciate what they have. (Unemployed and can’t find a job? Let me send you off to America where you can discover what it’s like to be without welfare and have to pay for your own healthcare. Let’s just hope you don’t get a serious illness because those can really set you back! Sick of the rain? How about a stint in Canada where it’s below freezing for 8 months of the year and the other 4 are too humid and bug-ridden to go outside. Enjoy!).

Let’s just say I’m happy to be home. Here are a few of my favorite photos from our 2012 travels. All were taken around Yorkshire as we have barely ventured outside the county this year. (Hope to rectify that in 2013).

Whitby harbour

whitby

Local cricket team

villagecricket

Spring wild flowers near home

springfields

Beautiful stonework – Skipton church

skiptonchurch

Wensleydale traffic jam

sheepcrossing

Looking back at Robin Hood’s Bay from the beach

robinhoodsbay

Rainbow in Calderdale

rainbow

Two of my oldest and dearest friends at Christmas

oldfriends

Lothersdale fields

lothersdale

Leeds town center

Leeds

Fun on the stepping stones at Bolton Abbey

boltonabbey

Bluebells at Fountains Abbey

bluebells

Amazing medieval tiles

amazingruins

The view from Arncliffe Crag

almscliffeview

Knaresborough in the sunshine

Knaresborough

Antiques market in Harrogate

harrogate

Me with an Olympic gold postbox in Leeds

goldpostbox

Fog on The Stray in Harrogate

fog

Richmond, North Yorkshire

country2-towns

Robin Hood’s Bay

coast

10 thoughts on “2012 – The Best of Times

  1. Wow, as someone who has never been to England, I LOVE your pictures, it really does look beautiful and inviting. I’m glad you guys made the right decision and are happy and content with it.

  2. Thanks for sharing your great pictures. It’s been 35 years since I lived in Yorkshire and it still looks as beautiful as ever!

  3. Lovely, lovely pictures I was born and raised in Lancashire so know well all the beautiful places you show. I have been reading your blog for a while and have taken great enjoyment from your obvious happiness in being home. I am living in Texas at the moment and was planning my return home next year, but cancer and a job loss this year have changed my plans a little.
    While I look forward to being home I will continue to enjoy your blog and especially your pictures.

    • Linda, I’m so sorry to hear about your illness and your job. Please keep commenting and keep me posted on how things go for you. I’ll have my fingers crossed that you can get home soon.

  4. Your blog is a real inspiration to people like myself who are moving back to the UK. I totally agree about sending every whinger to another country to the other side of the card. We are moving back after spending nearly 10 years in Asia and Australia, both have their pros and cons. Less than 3 weeks to go, I can’t wait although the temperature is going to be a shock to the system.

    • Thanks! If you’re not coming for a few more weeks, hopefully the worst of this cold weather will have passed. Right now it’s below freezing and covered in snow!

Leave a Reply

