I Have “White People Problems”

I’ve been feeling a bit down the last few days. Just feeling homesick and wishing we were back with friends and family already. The homesickness usually starts a spiral – I feel down, so I want to sit and have a gab with someone who loves me, but the people I want to talk to are all 3,000 miles away, and realizing that makes the homesickness worse … and so the spiral continues.

Luckily, I came across a website called “White Wine” a few weeks ago. This site was inspired by the Louis CK comedy bit ‘white people problems.’

In case you can’t watch the video (and I hope you can because i’s so funny!) Louis’s main point is that we have luxury problems when compared to people whose main worry for the day is maybe getting their head cut off by a band of armed rebels. And that’s the idea of White Whine. They scour the internet for ‘white people problems’ and then post them online, usually with a biting comment just to add insult to injury for the poor person whose shallow whining has been selected for public consumption.

Here are a few of my recent favorites:

Looking at this site when I’m fed up doesn’t make me stop missing the people I’m missing. But it does give me a good laugh and remind me that homesickness is definitely a “white whine.”

6 thoughts on “I Have “White People Problems”

  1. Or that kind of homesickness anyway. I did notice that the first time that I really really couldn’t stand not being close to my sisters were the two weeks before I saw them, not the previous four years. The end of the absence and all that.

    • I think there’s a lot to that. Maybe when you don’t think there’s an end in sight you just get on with it. Once the end is in view, the feelings all come to the surface.

  2. Too funny! Ain’t that the truth. Now you have me trying to think of some good ones! Sorry you’re feeling down. So how excited is your Mom that you’re coming home?

  3. Susan, you’re one of the white people allowed to whine as you have good reason. I think mum is excited but honestly I also think it feels so far away that it feels as though it will never get here.

    Trust me, once you’ve seen that website, you can’t look at Facebook in the same way ever again. Heh.

    Today my white whine is that it’s 90 degrees and the AC units aren’t keeping up. Never mind that there are people living in hotter places with no AC at all – I AM HOT!

  4. Freaky .. I’d never heard of Louis CK before you mentioned him today, and I opened up the latest People Magazine and there’s mention of him and the show in the TV reviews.

    On a side note, why do I have three n’s at the end of my name?

Leave a Reply

